This Feature allow the iPad to update the standard edition as changes are made on the iPad. The updates are done in the background and appear on the standard edition after a few seconds without having to re-sync the iPad.
(Note this does not replace syncing of the iPad and changes made on the standard edition, such as new Jobs, are not automatically sent to the iPad.)
This setting should only be turned on immediately after doing a Synchronisation or a Rebuild Database, and only turned off when all pending updates are completed. (The continuous sync indicator is green, see below)
There is an indicator of the Status of the Continuous Updates at the bottom right of the Job Tabs screen.
The upward facing Green arrow indicates that Continuous Updates are in use.
The indicator can be one
- Green – All updates are complete
- Teal – The iPad is currently offline
- Brown – an update is being prepared for upload
- Orange – an update is taking place
- Black – Continuous Updates are OFF
- Red – Continuous Updates error has occurred
Continuous Updates are enabled in the Sync Status screen, this may be accessed by tapping on the upload status indicator.
This screen shows the following
- Current Upload Status
- Number of updated outstanding
- Estimated time until outstanding updates are uploaded to the standard edition.
- Error Message (if an error has occurred)
- A switch to turn Continuous Updates OFF and ON
When “Continuous Updates” are enabled and the iPad is synced, it is no longer necessary to upload Photos or data from the iPad, so these steps are skipped. The sync process will still download the latest data to the iPad, so regular syncing of the iPad is still required. This will ensure that the iPad is refreshed with the Latest data, including any new Jobs or Sales that are required.
If there are still updates outstanding, an error message if you try to Sync the iPad
If the iPad is offline, any updates are stored and when the iPad later re-connects the updates are applied to the standard edition.
If an error occurs, the status indicator turns red. No further updates to the standard edition will be performed until the error is resolved.
If “Continuous Updates” are on then performing any of the following
- QA Check
- Send for Review
will not upload Photos / Data to the standard edition.
(The standard edition should already be up to date)
The menu options for the above options will be disabled if any updates are outstanding.
Attempting to turn off continuous updates will stop any further updates being sent to the PC version of ValuePRO and a waring message is displayed